2009 SCO & BRIC Summits > SCO Member States


Updated: 2009-06-10 16:12


Founded on October 1, 1949, CHINA (THE PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF CHINA, PRC) is the largest country in East Asia and the most populous in the world with 1.3 billion people. Its land territory covers an area of 9.6 million square kilometers. According to its constitution, the People's Republic of China is a socialist republic.

The Chinese head of state is Hu Jintao, who is the Chairman of the People's Republic of China, the General Secretary of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China and the Chairman of the Central Military Committee.  

The highest legislative body in China is the National People's Congress. The highest executive body is the Central Government of the People's Republic of China. The highest judicial body is the Supreme People's Court of China.

The People's Republic of China has 23 provinces, five autonomous regions, four municipalities and two special administrative regions, Hong Kong and Macao. 

China borders 14 nations: the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), Mongolia, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Nepal, Bhutan, Myanmar, Laos and Vietnam. It also borders the Republic of Korea, Japan, Philippines, Brunei, Malaysia and Indonesia along the territorial waters. 

Photo Gallery