Music and hymns at Britain's royal wedding

Updated: 2011-04-29 09:45
Large Medium Small

Britain's Prince William and his long-time girlfriend Kate Middleton will marry on Friday at London's Westminster Abbey.  

Here are details of the music and hymns they have chosen for the occasion.


The music before the service will begin with a selection of organ pieces:

Fantasia in G (Piece d'orgue a 5) by Johann Sebastian Bach, followed by Veni Creator Spiritus by the Master of The Queen's Music, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies; Prelude on St. Columba Op. 28 by Sir Charles Villiers Stanford and Sonata for Organ Op. 28 (Allegro maestoso and Allegretto) by Edward Elgar.

* Following this will be seven orchestral pieces:

Serenade for Strings in E minor Op. 20 (Allegro piacevole, Larghetto and Allegretto) by Edward Elgar

Courtly Dance V: Galliard from Gloriana (Symphonic Suite)

Op. 53a no. 7 by Benjamin Britten

Fantasia on Greensleeves by Ralph Vaughan Williams

Farewell to Stromness by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies

On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring by Frederick Delius

Touch Her Soft Lips and Part from Henry V Suite by William Walton

Romance for String Orchestra Op. 11 by Gerald Finzi

Canzona from Organ Sonata in C minor by Percy Whitlock


The Service will begin with a Fanfare by The State Trumpeters of the Household Cavalry to mark the arrival of the queen and the Duke of Edinburgh.

The Fanfare will be followed by three Processionals. For the procession of the queen, William and Middleton have chosen March from The Birds by Sir Charles Hubert Hastings Parry.

Prelude on Rhosymedre by Ralph Vaughan Williams will accompany the procession of the clergy.

The couple have selected I was Glad, also by Parry, for the procession of the bride.


Guide Me, O Thou Great Redeemer, words by William Williams, translated by Peter Williams and others, and music by John Hughes.

The second will be Love Divine All Love Excelling, words by Charles Wesley and music by William Penfro Rowlands.

The third will be Jerusalem, by Sir Charles Hubert Hastings Parry, words by William Blake.


The Anthem, This is the day which the Lord hath made, has been composed specially for the occasion by British composer John Rutter. It was commissioned by Westminster Abbey as a wedding present and will be performed by both the Choir of Westminster Abbey and the Chapel Royal Choir.

The Anthem will be followed by the Motet "Ubi caritas" by Paul Mealor, a Welsh composer.

The National Anthem will be sung immediately before the Signing of the Registers.


During the Signing of the Registers, the choirs will sing Blest pair of Sirens, words by John Milton from At a Solemn Musick, music by Sir Charles Hubert Hastings Parry.

Following the Signing, there will be a Fanfare by the Fanfare Team from the Central Band of the Royal Air Force.

The Fanfare, called Valiant and Brave, after the motto of No. 22 Squadron (Search and Rescue Force) was specially composed for this Service by Wing Commander Duncan Stubbs, Principal Director of Music in the Royal Air Force.

The Recessional, for the Procession of the Bride and Bridegroom, will be Crown Imperial by William Walton.

Toccata from Symphonie V by Charles-Marie Widor and Pomp and Circumstance March no. 5 by Edward Elgar will follow the Service.